#WWWBlog3

Morning.

Are we sure there’s only one Wednesday in a week? It seems to me to come around very quickly … which roughly translated means it’s #WWWblog day again and I haven’t got a thing to say. Makes a change to not having a thing to wear, I suppose, but right now that is small consolation.

It’s raining outside – not any namby-pamby drizzle, but a full-on sheeting-it-down downpour. Would hardly be an up-pour, would it? Hard to believe, as I squint out of the kitchen window, that we live in the driest county in the UK. And Pavlova the chicken doesn’t look too impressed, as she struts about, doing her (soggy) free-range thing, looking for worm supplements to the two cereal breakfasts she’s already scoffed. The grass is nice and green, though, and Pav’s rusty red livery contrasts rather nicely.

Told you I didn’t have anything to say!

I’m on book four (of five), reading for the Romantic Novelists’ 2016 Awards – I’m ploughing through to leave the way clear for edits of Hostile Witness, my crime novel out next February. Looking forward to that. Meanwhile, I’ve read one and a half contemporary romances, one humorous and one historical – not actually looked at number five yet, so it’ll be a surprise. Pleasant, I hope.

Overnight, my crime masterpiece By Any Other Name leapt up 600K places in the Kindle charts – how bizarre. I don’t have that many friends. I don’t really know how the system works, so that probably only means it sold one copy?

Here’s the blurb:

Emily Kelly cannot believe her luck when she is employed as temporary companion to wealthy Sir Gerald Ffinche. (OK, luck had nothing to do with it – but all’s fair in love and job-seeking, right?)
She soon settles in chez Ffinche and builds an excellent rapport with Sir Gerald – but it’s his son Richard who really interests her, and they quickly become inseparable.
However, it seems their happiness has enraged someone closely associated with the family, and a series of tragic events is set in motion. Subtle clues are left to incriminate Emily and when she determines to expose the real culprit, she is spoiled for choice. As the body count mounts, Emily and Richard – and the police – are perplexed. They’re clearly looking for someone who projects a mask of sanity to the world whilst being dangerously disturbed: but who?
With a whole shoal of red herrings and a plot that veers from the almost cosy to a taut psychological thriller, By Any Other Name is an enthralling, chilling whodunit.

“Twists abound as love blossoms amongst the dead bodies in a genre-crossing novel with a dark undertow all its own.” Marika Cobbold, best-selling author.

If that grabs you, you can check out the book and read a sample by following the link below. Meanwhile, happy #WWWblog day!

http://viewbook.at/By_Any_Other_Name_by_Nell_Peters

7 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I purchased this some time ago, and read it right away and I am sure I left a post at the time. If it got lost, I am sorry. I really enjoyed it. I love to read anything crime as you may have noticed. I almost exclusively read only crime, thrillers and espionage, and write mainly crime, even though I also have something non-crime out next year, so I know my way around red herrings, and how to not get led up a garden path or two. It has a fab twist as I recall and I stayed up all night to finish it. 600k moves up the chart is no surprise to me. Well deserved and long may you climb to the heady heights. xx

    • Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, Jane! Much appreciated – as are your kind words re By Any Other Name. I did know you’d read it, but always great to know the views of a fellow author. I see you write a blog on here too (I’m a complete newbie/dunce regards this blogging lark – as you may have noticed!) Will have a look.
      Thanks again! x

      • I am pleased to say something but my problem is I never feel qualified to pass comment as one author to another about another’s work. It fills me with terror and so I am reluctant to get into reviews and the like. But if/when I am able, I will leave comments and only if I feel positive about what I’ve read. I am not into bashing someone else. Glass houses and all that jazz! My blog here is now about 3.5 years old and I mix up some stuff about my writing with observations, visits I’ve made (like the front page at the moment) and photographs etc. Just a bit of this and that. Now and again I have a guest author. My piece about West Green house has been picked up by the PR lady for the house and tweeted and added to their website, they were so chuffed with it…so I am really happy too. Good luck with your blog. I shall return I know. Thanks for popping in here. Appreciated. 🙂

  2. I read the piece about West Green House and saw that it had been picked up by their PR – great result! Well done you! I really must take this blogging lark more seriously, but it is a bit time-consuming. Or maybe I’m just disorganised! Probably that, actually. I’m down for a guest blog with Jenny K just before Christmas and I’m already panicking that I have nothing interesting whatsoever to say… x

    • I have only just found this after I can’t tell you how long. So very sorry for not responding. I have no excuse worth writing about. I imagine I should get emails letting me know when you post, but I haven’t found any! Cripes. do keep this blogging lark up, it helps a great deal. 🙂

Leave a Reply

